Administration in Raiganj

Raiganj is an important city in West Bengal and the administration is looked after by several important departments such as municipal corporation, police department and others. Each of these departments aim to provide good administration in Raiganj so that the residents of the city as well as the tourists feel safe and have access to all the basic amenities that are due to them.

Raiganj Administration

Raiganj was given the municipal status on 15th august, 1951. A ‘B’ category town, it is an important center for economic development. Raiganj subdivision, a subdivision of the North Dinajpur district, comprises Kaliaganj municipality, Raiganj municipality and some community development blocs: Itahar, Hemtabad, Raiganj and Kaliganj. These four blocks comprise two census towns and 39 gram panchayats. The subdivision is headquartered at Raiganj.

As per the instructions of the delimitation commission, assembly constituency no. 35, the city of Raiganj comprises Raiganj municipality and Bahin, Kamalabari I, Gouri, Kamalabatri II, and Maraikup gram panchayats of Raiganj community development block. Sitgram and Rampur gram panchayats of Raiganj block belong to Hemtabad (SC) assembly constituency. Birghoi and Barua gram panchayats of Raiganj block belong to Kalaiaganj (SC) assembly constituency. The city has 25 municipal wards and 25 councilors.

Some of the state government offices that are situated in the town are district hospital, district court, public works department, public health engineering department, block development office, state electricity office, agricultural development office, irrigation and waterways department, district veterinary hospital and block youth office. Some central offices located here are Central excise, CPWD, and Post & Telegraph.

The efficient administration in Raiganj is the backbone of the city. It is responsible for the optimum utilization of resources and the easy functioning of public affairs. The various administrative bodies in the city have well defined roles that ensure good governance.

Raiganj police is responsible for the maintenance of law and order as well as crime prevention in Raiganj. It is headed by the Raiganj superintendent of police.

Some Important Address and Phone Numbers:

Raiganj Police Station
Phone no:+(91)-3526-252337

Raiganj Municipality
Phone No:03523 242563, 03523 243577
Address:Raiganj Municipality,
P.O. & P.S. Raiganj,
Dist. Uttar Dinajpur,

Raaiganj Block Development Office
Phone No:03521-244044, 9163180600
Address:P.O. - Raiganj
Uttar Dinajpur
Pin - 733124
West Bengal
e-mail - [email protected], [email protected]
Free Listing